Touring (and Drinking) at Three Roll Estate

As a disclaimer, nothing in this post is sponsored – it is all my unasked-for opinion.

Also – I’m still getting used to being out and about again, so, unfortunately, I don’t have many pictures….

Recently, the hubby and I went to Baton Rouge (Louisiana) to visit my family for my sister’s birthday. The point of the trip was to do an Escape Room – we did The 13th Gate Escape, which was fun, but HARD… and, for the first time ever, we failed to escape. To drown our sorrows, we wandered over to check out the building next door – Three Roll Estate .

Three Roll Estate is self-described as Louisiana’s Single Estate Distillery – making vodka and rum from sugarcane grown at Alma Plantation and Sugar Mill in Lakeland, Louisiana. The sugarcane is pressed in, well, a Three Roll Press, to extract the sugarcane juice. We were able to try out a mini version of this and even try some of the juice. As expected, it’s pretty sweet.

As part of the tour, we were able to walk through the whole process – from the fermentation tanks, to the distillation area, to the aging barrels. Then, to finish the tour, we were able to try their vodka and multiple types of rum. The vodka was a little sweet, and very smooth. And, personally, I’m a fan of rum, so I was happy!

They do age whiskey as well, but, they readily admit that the whiskey is bought in Tennessee and floated down the Mississippi in barrels on a barge, then aged in the distillery. Being honest, I have very few whiskeys I care for (probably, only one or two), but the guys liked it.

While we were waiting to buy our two bottles of rum and bottle of vodka (!), the hubby and our bartender/tour guide offered the hubby the last taste of a limited edition barrel, which he absolutely loved.

I would highly recommend, if you’re in the area, to stop in, have a drink and take a tour!

Or – go ahead and order some rum, vodka or whiskey and support this awesome distillery!

Talk to Me!