I’ll have the Scalibut!

**As a disclaimer, nothing in this post is sponsored – it is all my unasked-for opinion. **

When I was really young, I was picky. Like, super picky. I ate chicken strips, hamburgers and rice and gravy (because what good Cajun girl doesn’t?!). I HATED milk and wasn’t the biggest fan of cheese, unless it was on pizza or sprinkled on my very smooth, no onions or green stuff, spaghetti. I liked fried shrimp, once I picked off the fried parts….

As I got older, I started to become more adventurous with trying things. And I realized how much I LOVED food. My mom is continuously shocked that I love raw fish.

About four and a half years ago, I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease, and my eating journey came to a screeching halt. Cutting out gluten from a mostly gluten-filled diet was terrifying. I honestly ate chips and salsa for the first week. I lost a ton of weight in the beginning though, so there’s a bright side, I guess?

While New Orleans isn’t the most… progressive… when it comes to gluten free dining, (especially for those like me with Celiac, where cross-contamination is such a huge deal) there are plenty of delicious options to be found.

For our Anniversary last October, the Hubby and I had a wonderful dinner at GW Fins. Their menu changes nightly, depending on what seafood they get in each day. Normally, dinner service is started with really good bread and butter (per my gluten-eating husband), but they brought out some GF Spoon bread with lobster sauce. It’s rich and delicious!

I dug in before I remembered to take a picture!

For an appetizer, I had Tempura Snapper Breast. It was one of the chef-specials, recommended by our fantastic server, and I’m super glad I ordered it. The skin was a little tough for me, but super sticky and tasty!

For my entrée, I ordered one of their most famous dishes – the Scalibut! Halibut with Scallops seared on top, on a royal red shrimp risotto and snow peas with pea shoot butter. The fish was so buttery and fluffy, and the risotto was one of the best I’ve had!

The finale to one of the best GF meals I’ve had in a while was the Chocolate Mousse Bomb covered in Raspberry Coulis! As full as I was after all the food I ate that night, the Hubs and I DEVOURED our bomb. Along with the two mini-bombs we got for our anniversary ❤ .

Chocolate Mousse Bomb for the win!

I would HIGHLY recommend anyone coming to visit New Orleans try GW Fins. The food is phenomenal, whether you can eat gluten or not. We’ve been back once already, but I still have a list of menu items to try again!

Talk to Me!